Smithfield High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
| Login

Rifle Team Wraps Up Season on High Note

The Packer Rifle team finished its season this past week on a high note. The team shot its highest score (1049) in the Topeka 5th Annual National postal match and placed 6th out of 84 teams from around the nation. The team also solidified their 2nd place finish in the Virginia Rifle League (VARL) behind the reigning champ James River (NROTC). The difference this year being the gap between JR and SHS has been cut down to single digits.

To recap the year, the team finished for the third year in a row as the number one Army JROTC rifle team in the state; finished 4th in the Brigade area (Maryland down to South Carolina); 3rd in the U.S. Northeast Region and 19th among all Sporter category Army JROTC teams worldwide. With only four seniors graduating from the team, the expectations are already high for next year. Seniors Diamond Whitehead, Niya Young, Connor Havron and Rayne Berg will graduate. Unfortunately, junior Amery Wappelhorst will be moving out of the area this summer. 

Returning to the team next year are rising seniors Caroline Lewton, Alexander Ramirez, Zachary Hedgepeth, and Samuel Day; rising junior Colton Stalls; and rising sophomore Charlise Albers. The team has three returning varsity members and they should be able to pick up where they left off. 

A huge thanks to the National Rifle Association for its third substantial grant in as many years to fund the purchase of an electronic target and target system as well as laser training devices to improve our marksmen’s steadiness in aiming. Any and all donations go directly to the team, travel and meals as well as new and improved equipment, pellets, and targets to practice with. The addition of the electronic targets will bring a state-of-the-art feel to the 16-lane range in the JROTC building and will allow your marksmen to properly prepare for regional and national competition. SY 21-22 has been an outstanding year and the packer marksmen are already looking forward to stepping it up in SY 22-23.


Top Row, Left to Right: Samuel Dvorak (Work), Ian Halle (Track), Alex Ramirez, Diamond Whitehead, Zachary Hedgepeth, Connor Havron

Bottom Row Left to Right: Charlise Albers, Amery Wappelhorst, Samuel Day, Colton Stalls, Caroline Lewton, Team Captain Niya Young, and Kadence Distefano (Track). (Not Pictured Rayna Berg)