Smithfield High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
| Login

Congratulations SHS Debate Team

Overall, the team took home 2 individual state titles and 2 individual runner-up trophies with 12 of the 16 state qualified Packer debaters placing in their divisions. In the team standings, Smithfield made the record books by accumulating a remarkable 31 points and becoming only the 2nd team in the 100-plus years of VHSL State Debate tournaments to surpass the 30 point milestone.
Individual Results:

Lincoln Douglas
Alex Hanna-State Champion
Reide Petty-3rd Place

Public Forum
Brianna Peterson & Sidney Jones-State Champions
Molly Ryan & Hailey Joyce-3rd Place

Brendan Cox & Justin Harris-State Runner-ups
Ashley Guishard & Alecia Guishard-3rd Place

Kelly Moore-State Runner Up
Jamie Graham-4th Place & voted Most Outstanding Senator